*I would like to preface this by saying that these are books that I READ in 2016. That does not necessarily mean they came out in 2016.

So I read 65 books in 2016. I’m pretty pleased with this number, despite the fact that I definitely could have read more. These past few months have been a bit weak, but all in all it was a good reading year!

Oddly enough, I found it was actually really hard to come up with a solid amount of books I read this year that I would consider “favorites.” Sure, I gave a lot of high ratings to a lot of different books. But not many are ones that made it into that special place in my heart. There were a lot of books that I recall saying “this will be a definite favorite” at the time I was reading them, but only a few of those have actually remained a favorite. For a lot of those cases I think I was a bit too caught up in the moment of reading them.

I’ve decided to break this down into three categories. Finished Series, Unfinished Series, and Stand Alone. The finished series are ones where I read every published book in it this year, meaning I read the entire series from start to finish in 2016 and no previous years. The books will be in no particular order when I first mention them, but I will finish this post by saying what my top three books were overall.

Finished Series (2):

Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo: of course this is on here. These two books, Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom, are two of the most exciting, entertaining, and immersing books I have ever read. I’ve talked loads about both of them but if you would like to read my gush’s on them they will be linked below. I cannot recommend this duology enough. Please read it.

*These gushes contain spoilers, so only click on them if you have read the books!!

Six of Crows Gush

Crooked Kingdom Gush

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Steifvater: this series is one that really took me by surprise. It is the most atmospheric thing I have ever read, hands down. The writing is beautiful, the story is unique, the characters are lovable, and the tone is magical. While the ending wasn’t quite everything I hoped/expected, it was still a phenomenal series.

Unfinished Series (1):

The Dark Artifacts-Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare: this is the first book in Cassandra’s newest Shadowhunter series. It’s by far the strongest first book out of all her series and I’m very excited to see where the plot will go!

Stand-Alones (2):

The Girls by Emma Cline: This book is based on the infamous “Manson Family,” a 1960’s cult lead by Charles Manson (although names and details are complete fiction). It’s compelling and engaging and the writing is lovely and powerful. Definitely one of the most interesting stories I’ve ever read about.

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah: This is the best WWII book I’ve ever read (and I’ve read a decent amount). It follows two French sisters and their individual struggles during the war. Intensely beautiful and consuming, this book probably wins the award for “book that caused the most tears in 2016.”

Top Three Books of 2016 (counting down):
3. Six of Crows

2. Crooked Kingdom

1. The Nightingale

I know, two of these books are part of the same duology. But I just loved it that much. And The Nightingale definitely deserves it’s spot. It’s truly an amazing book and I’m so glad I got to read it this year!

Let me know your favorite books from 2016! I hope you all have a happy New Year!

P.S. I won’t be doing a wrap up for December since I only read two books this month and honestly just don’t feel like doing it. You can check out my individual reviews for those two books I read right here:

A Torch Against the Night

How to Build a Girl