download

We all know how much I was anticipating this book. Did it live up to my impossibly high expectations?

OF COURSE IT DID!

It surpassed them, in fact.

I went into this book a little worried. We all know about “second book slump” (although I think that’s mainly for a series, and this is a duology). I was a bit afraid that this book wouldn’t be as good as the first one. But honestly, I think this one was better.

If you don’t know much about the Six of Crows duology, it’s essentially about a group of thieves/criminals who do a bunch of bad ass swindling of people who have wronged them. The characters all kind of walk the line between hero and anti-hero (some leaning more towards anti-hero than other–looking at you Kaz) and it’s honestly everything I could ever want.

Since I have so many feelings to discuss after reading Crooked Kingdom, I’m going to be making a spoil-filled gush pretty soon to let that all out. I don’t want to say much more in this review, but if you haven’t read Six of Crows yet please PLEASE do. You will not regret it–I haven’t heard a single bad review about the duology EVER (that’s not to say there isn’t any, I just haven’t come across one yet).

The plot in this book was even more mind blowing and beautifully crafted than the first one, but the thing that will remain my favorite aspect of these books is the characters. We get so much background on them that I feel as though they are all my friends and that I’ve known them my whole life.

Again, please go read Six of Crows if you haven’t yet. If you have read it but have yet to pick Crooked Kingdom for whatever reason, make it a priority. This is not a sequel that deserves to be put off–it must be devoured ASAP!!

*Also: I think this book might even take the position of my #1 favorite for all of 2016 so far!

Rate: 5 out of 5 stars (obviously)